rchitecturally exp

ASCENT

Ascent: Competition Brief

Students in Canadian Schools of Architecture and Engineering are asked to design an observation platform that is reached via a vertically motivated structural typology. A significant portion of the structure should be free standing, and so lateral stability needs to be considered. The primary access to the platform may be via stairs, but a lift is to be included to maintain barrier free accessibility.

The primary structure must be fabricated from Architecturally Exposed Structural Steel (AESS), with specific reference to the Categories and Characteristics as described in the CISC AESS Guide. Detailed references are available through the competition website.

The site is to be located in Canada to the specific discretion of the student team. The observation structure should have a significant relationship to and engagement with the view.

1st Prize \$8,000 (faculty sponsor \$2,000) 2nd Prize \$4,000 (faculty sponsor \$1,000) 3rd Prize \$2,000 (faculty sponsor \$500)

SUBMISSION DEADLINE: MAY 16, 2025 **Register online to receive Q&A and latest updates**

Information: https://www.cisc-icca.ca/architectural-student-design-competition/ Contact and questions: education@cisc-icca.ca

cisc 😾 icca The **tectural Student Design Competition 2024-2025**



Eligibility

The competition is open to all full-time students (individually or in teams of a maximum of 3) registered in a Canadian school that offers an accredited or non-accredited program of architecture or architecture / engineering of at least 3 years.

The competition may be conducted as part of a design studio project under the direction of the faculty sponsor or as an independent extracurricular self-directed project.

Winning entries and their faculty sponsor will receive stipulated prizes. Prizes will be divided evenly between group members.

Winning entries will be published on the CISC website and announced in our Advantage Steel publication. The projects will be displayed at the **CISC** Annual Conference.

Jury

The jury is composed of Architects, Engineers and Fabricators who have been past CISC winners for their outstanding achievements in steel construction or whose work.

Jury President Sylvie Boulanger, ing./P.Eng., Ph.D. Senior Engineer MTB Consulting, Montreal

Jury Members

Andrew Voth, P.Eng., Ph.D. Associate Read Jones Christoffersen Ltd., Toronto

Nicolas Demers-Stoddart, Lead Designer, Partner Architect, OAQ, OAA, MRAIC, RIBA, B.Eng. Provencher Roy, Montreal

Andy Metten, P.Eng., Struct.Eng. Partner & Structural Engineer Bush, Bohlman & Partners LLP, Vancouver

Loraine Dearstyne Fowlow, Associate Professor, School of Architecture, Planning and Landscape University of Calgary

Owen Rose, Principal Architect, PA LEED rose architecture. Montreal

Marc Gasparetto, Project Director Cherubini Group, Dartmouth

Competition Sponsors









